C Luzon bloc seeks aid for Santi victims

The Central Luzon Bloc of lawmakers is calling on Malacañang to look into the devastation caused by Typhoon Santi that hit the region even as humanitarian assistance is being extended to earthquake victims in the South.

The 25-member group led Bulacan 4th District Rep. Linabelle Ruth Villarica, in a letter to the President Benigno Aquino III, said the legislators met on October 16 to call the attention of the regional directors of the Departments of Agriculture, Health, Education, Public Works and Highways and Social Welfare and Development to help address Santi’s widespread damage.

“The CLB membership expressed its lament to the minimal attention given by these government agencies to the Central Luzon devastation,” the group said in the letter.

Villarica, bloc president, said, “we were also victims here, millions worth of properties and agricultural produce were destroyed and hundreds of thousands of our constituents were affected. While we are doing the best we can to provide them with temporary relief, the government must help us in delivering basic services needed by the victims.”

She said while all eyes are on the victims of tragedies that struck Visayas and Mindanao, especially the 7.2 earthquake that hit Bohol and Cebu, much effort is needed to alleviate the suffering of people in Central Luzon.

The group also sought “an urgent, comprehensive and coordinated action be done – specifically the allocation and release of needed funds” to rebuild houses, school buildings and infrastructure, aid farmers whose crops have been lost, safeguard communities against health risks.

Villarica said Santi toppled electric posts and cut power transmission lines and until now, many villages are without electricity.

Joining her are Rep. Bellaflor Angara-Castillo, Lone District, Aurora; Rep. Magnolia Antonino-Nadres, 4th District, Nueva Ecija; Rep. Juan Pablo Bondoc, 4th District, Pampanga; Rep. Enrique Cojuangco, 1st District, Tarlac; Rep. Cinchona Cruz-Gonzales, CIBAC Party-List; Rep. Cheryl Deloso-Montalla, 2nd District, Zambales; Rep. Enrique Garcia, Jr., 2nd District, Bataan; Rep. Agapito Guanlao, Butil Farmers Party-List; Rep. Joseller Guiao, 1st District, Pampanga; Rep. Jeffrey Domingo Khonghun, 1st District, Zambales; Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, 2nd District, Pampanga; Rep. Joselito Mendoza, 3rd District, Bulacan; Rep. Gavini Pancho, 2nd District, Bulacan; Rep. Arturo Robes, Lone District, City of San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan; Rep. Oscar Rodriguez, 3rd District, Pampanga -- vice president; Rep. Herminia Roman, 1st District, Bataan -- treasurer; Rep. Erlinda Santiago, 1-Sagip Party-List; Rep. Estrellita Suansing, 1st District, Nueva Ecija ; Rep. Ma. Victoria Sy- Alvarado, 1st District, Bulacan; Rep. Sherwin Tugna, CIBAC Party-List; Rep. Czarina Umali, 3rd District, Nueva Ecija; Rep. Noel Villanueva, 3rd District, Tarlac; Rep. Joseph Gilbert Violago, 2nd District, Nueva Ecija; and Rep. Susan Yap, 2nd District, Tarlac – secretary.


COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.
AdvertisementGMA-Congress Trivia 1