Tan, San Juan emerge touring car champs

Rosario — William Tan of 2GO Travel-Promethium Racing and Leo San Juan of TRS-Nissan Commonwealth Racing Team pulled off narrow escape wins to capture the top plums recently in the Philippine Touring Car Championship Series at the Batangas Racing Circuit here. The drivers put their guts and skills and the power of their machines to the limit and pushed their respective title bids in this event organized by the Automobile Association Philippines, promoted by the Philippine Race Car Drivers Inc. and co-presented by Kumho Tires and Tiarra Marketing, Seaoil Extreme 97, 2GO Travel, Speedlab, Forex, Promethium, Velocity Motors, Aeromed Ambulance Transport and Monster Energy Drink.
Alan Arguelles dominated the last three races to capture the PTCC Division 3 crown.
But as the smoke of battle cleared, Tan clinched the premier Division 1 crown (for 200hp cars) and the AAP Driver of the Year, while San Juan copped the Division 2 title (for 150hp cars). Sharing the limelight was Circuit Showdown and novice driver Alan Arguelles, who bagged the Division 3 overall honors (for 100hp cars) after winding up the series with 125 points, 30 ahead of rival Paul Aris Anguluan of Shift Racing Team, followed by Dominic Uy of Mighty Sports-Velocity Racing Team at third. “The 2012-2013 PTCC Series was a complete success after modification of the Technical Regulations, with the full support of all partners and sponsors, particularly Kumho Tires and Tiarra Marketing, which was the official tires of the PTCC Series, race officials, supporters and to all competitors, who made the 2012-13 series possible. We also would like to congratulate all winners and drivers for a safe, fun and competitive racing season,” said Mark Desales of AAP Motorsports. Tan struggled but managed to maintain a podium finish in the last three races—winding up second in Race 10, third in Race 11 and second in Race 12—to wrap up the series with 164 points,  enough to claim the overall plum. Circuit Showdown’s Enzo Pastor dominated the weekend with impressive driving to sweep all three races and capture third place overall with 134 points, just three points shy of Forex Racing Team’s Joey Pery, 2010 Driver of the Year, who secured the overall runner-up crown with 137 points. Meanwhile, DKC Racing Team’s Arnel Carlos showed off his driving skills after bagging a podium finish in the morning race, but was disqualified after failing in the dynamometer test and ignoring race signals after he spun out and caused damaged to his car, forcing him to make a pit stop. For more information, contact AAP Motorsports at 655-5889, loc. 823.
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.