Nominations to 30th PMPC Star Awards for Movies bared

THE Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) announced the official nominees of the 30th Star Awards for Movies to be held on March 9, 6 p.m., at the Solaire inPasay City.

Expected to lend glitter to the awarding ceremonies are some of the best artists and craftsmen who got the PMPC voters’ nods for the various nominated categories, as well as the most talented performers in special production numbers, as prepared by the team of veteran director Al Quinn and Tess Celestino, of Airtime Marketing, Inc.

This year, the Star Awards for Movies turns 30 and for its Pearl Anniversary, the PMPC Dekada Awards will be given to honor the best achievements of some of the industry’s notable artists - actors and directors in the last decade (2003 - 2013).

The PMPC Dekada Awardees include: actresses Judy Ann Santos, Eugene Domingo, AiAi de las Alas; actors Aga Muhlach, John Lloyd Cruz, Jericho Rosales, Dennis Trillo, Piolo Pascual, Baron Geisler; and film directors Joel Lamangan, Jose Javier Reyes, Maryo J. delos Reyes, Mark Meily, Olivia Lamasan, and Jerrold Tarog.

They now join the line-up of past PMPC Dekada Awardees who were similarly honored during the Star Awards for Movies’ 20th year, namely: Nora Aunor, Vilma Santos, Sharon Cuneta (actress); Christopher de Leon, Phillip Salvador, Ricky Davao (actors); and Joel Lamangan, Marilou Diaz-Abaya, Butch Perez (film directors).

Also to be given out at the 30th Star Awards for Movies are the Special Awards, such as the Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Award, the Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa likod ng Kamera, and the Darling of the Press, whose recipients are chosen by the whole PMPC body from a select group of nominees.

It is with much affection that this year’s Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Award will be given to an actor-thespian and member of the academic community, the veteran actress Rustica Carpio.

For the Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula sa Likod ng Kamera, the PMPC body, after a thorough deliberation on the prospective honoree, has decided to give recognition to two respected artists of the cinema: Ricardo Lee (screenwriter) and Peque Gallaga (film director).

It has also been a tradition for the PMPC voters to name the one showbiz celebrity who has shown qualities that best exemplifies a role model for professionalism, good camaraderie, and amiable dealings not only with the PMPC group but the whole of showbiz industry’s press and multi-media practitioners.

Who will be this year’s Darling of the Press from among these nominees: KC Concepcion, Luis Manzano, Vicky Morales, Piolo Pascual, and Jerry Yap of the National Press Club?

We will all find out on Sunday, March 9, when the 30th Star Awards for Movies unfold.


COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.