News Flash

October 09, 2015, Friday
  • Police detective shoots dead a hostage-taker who took control of a bus along Taft Ave. corner Pedro Gil in Manila. 10 hours ago |
  • Coloma says Pres. Aquino cannot yet certify as urgent the proposed BBL since it is still in the period of interpellation. 10 hours ago |
  • Arroyo to file her COC next week as she intends to run for 3rd & final term in Pampanga’s 2nd district. 10 hours ago |
  • Sen. Angara says both Senate & House are trying to find a ‘win-win solution’ for bill seeking to lower income tax. 10 hours ago |
  • Arroyo asks Sandiganbayan for permission to avail of some medical procedures in St. Luke’s QC from Oct. 21 to 22. 10 hours ago |
  • Rep. Arroyo asks Sandiganbayan to allow her to go through some medical tests not available at VMMC. 10 hours ago |
  • Policeman killed in an ambush in Marawi City on Wednesday night. 15 hours ago |
  • Comelec & Smartmatic-TIM to hold review of source code for 2016 elections in the first week of Jan. 2016 15 hours ago |
  • Arroyo to file new petition for bail at Sandiganbayan & will use UN Working Group’s report as basis. 15 hours ago |
  • DOJ cites US-PH Mutual Defense Treaty as basis for participation of U.S. troops in Mamasapano operation. 15 hours ago |
  • DOJ says U.S. troops who participated in Oplan Exodus did not violate the PH constitution. 15 hours ago |
  • DOJ says U.S. troops’ participation in Mamasapano clash was limited to intelligence work & monitoring & not actual combat. 15 hours ago |
  • DOJ confirms U.S. troops’ participation in Oplan Exodus launched the Mamasapano operations last Jan. 25. 15 hours ago |
  • Palace does not see Enrile’s call for full plenary debates on Mamasapano encounter as an attack vs. Aquino gov’t. 15 hours ago |
  • Singer and comedienne Elizabeth Ramsey passes away at 83. 16 hours ago |
  • Businessman Cedric Lee pays P 20K bail at Court of Tax Appeals in connection with the tax evasion case filed vs. him by DOJ. 16 hours ago |
  • Sen. Juan Ponce Enrile says the death of SAF 44 must not be taken lightly. 16 hours ago |
  • Sen. Enrile seeks a full plenary discussion on the Senate committee report on Mamasapano encounter. 16 hours ago |
  • Justice Sec. Leila de Lima says they have legal basis to detain Pampanga Rep. Gloria Arroyo. 16 hours ago |
  • Sen. Miriam Santiago says some society leaders are urging her to run for president & she can rise to the occasion. 17 hours ago |
  • DOJ: No witnesses that can identify who killed the 9 Seaborne Commandos that attacked suspected Malaysian terrorist Marwan’s hut. 17 hours ago |
  • DOJ: 9 Seaborne Commandos who attacked Marwan’s hut were killed in an area away from cornfield in Tukanalipao where 35 SAF members died. 17 hours ago |
  • DOJ: No respondents can be charged for the death of 9 members of 84th Seaborne Commandos who attacked Marwan’s hut during Mamasapano clash 17 hours ago |
  • 5-man UN Working Group urges PH gov’t to review Arroyo’s bail petition based on int’l human rights standards. 17 hours ago |
  • UN Working Group cites international law as basis for finding Arroyo’s continued detention illegal. 17 hours ago |
  • UN Working Group on Arbitrary Detention declares Arroyo’s detention at VMMC arbitrary & illegal. 17 hours ago |
  • Magnitude 4.7 earthquake hits Masbate & parts of Sorsogon. 17 hours ago |
  • 1 person dies & 3 are rescued as boat capsizes in Taal Lake in Talisay, Batangas. 17 hours ago |
  • Armed men abduct an Italian in Dipolog City. 17 hours ago |
  • Road mishap involving a truck & 9 motorcycles occurs at Commonwealth Ave near Tandang Sora flyover in QC. 17 hours ago |
  • Fire in Barangay Lipunan, Quezon City now under control. 18 hours ago |

Incumbents rule mayoralty race

By Ferdinand Fabella | May. 15, 2013 at 12:02am
Incumbent mayors from all but four of Metro Manila’s 17 local governments were able to keep or hand over their positions to their preferred successors with only one mayoral contest still uncertain, according to data from the Commission on Elections and its watchdogs.

The biggest winner was former President Joseph Estrada who was proclaimed duly-elected mayor of the City of Manila with his running mate,  incumbent Vice Mayor Isko Moreno, defeating incumbent Mayor Alfredo Lim.

Estrada garnered 301,616 votes over Lim’s 274,412 votes and election officials determined that the remaining four percent of the cast ballots would no longer make a difference in the contest. Lim under the banner of the opposition United Nationalist Alliance while Lim ran under the Liberal Party.

Incumbent Caloocan Rep. Oscar Malapitan, also of UNA, also managed to wrest the mayorship from the LP which fielded RJ Echiverri, son of incumbent Mayro Recom Echiverri, who ran and won as congressman of the city’s first district.

But in Parañaque City, LP candidate and incumbent Rep. Edwin Olivarez, son of former Mayor Pablo Olivarez, defeated UNA bet and incumbent councilor Benjo Bernabe, son of outgoing Mayor Florencio Bernabe Jr.

In neighboring Muntinlupa City, the LP’s candidate, former Mayor Jaime Fresnedi also unseated outgoing Mayor Aldrin San Pedro, who was seeking a third and last term in office. Fresnedi, who was Muntinlupa mayor for three terms, got 88,071 votes, beating San Pedro’s 83,337.

The only undecided mayoral still uncertain was that of Taguig City, where incumbent Mayor Lani Cayetano, the wife of re-elected Sen. Allan Peter Cayetano, scored ahead of Rica Tinga, a sister of former Mayor Freddie Tinga and daughter of former Supreme Court Justice Dante Tinga.

Tinga announced she will ask the Comelec to declare a failure of elections in Taguig due to alleged massive cheating. She claimed the camp of Cayetano used pre-shaded ballots to win more votes.

In the 12 other governments of Metro Manila, incumbent candidates kept their seats or handed them over to preferred candidates.

In Makati City, incumbent Mayor Junjun Binay got 184,614 votes against the 22,837 of independent candidate Rene Bondal. His sister, reelectionist Rep. Abegail Binay of the second district also won with 93,621 votes over the 6,327 votes of independent candidate Joel Sarza.

In Pateros, last-termer Medina of the Nacionalista Party won by a slim margin against his opponent, Miguel Ponce III of Liberal. Medina has 12,886 votes compared to Ponce’s 12,284.

Incumbent Las Pinas Mayor Vergel Aguilar was virtually unopposed, garnering 138,121 votes. His closest opponent, independent candidate Conrado Miranda, got 3,782. Three other independent candidates ran against Aguilar.

In Pasay City, incumbent mayor Tony Calixto of Liberal was a runaway winner with 100,717 votes, followed by Jorge Del Rosario of Nacionalist People’s Coalition, 24,380. Former mayor Peewee Trinidad was third at 18,797.

In Quezon City, incumbent Mayor Herbert Bautista also won a second term by a landslide with 558,276 votes over Henry Samonte with 23,251 votes and Johnny Chang with 51,082.

Vice Mayor Joy Belmonte was also re-elected with 562,582 votes. With Rio Araja
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with editorial standards, may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section
comments powered by Disqus

Want Updates?

Be the first to know on what is latest from, simply enter your email below to get started. We don’t spam dont worry!