News Flash

August 30, 2015, Sunday
  • Thunderstorm advisory up over Nueva Ecija, Bulacan, Batangas and Cavite. 9 hours ago |
  • PAGASA says heavy rains in parts of Metro Manila are due to the merging of thunderstorms from Rizal & cloud formations over Manila Bay. 10 hours ago |
  • DILG Sec. Mar Roxas says while people have the right to peaceful assembly, they must not cause inconvenience to anyone. 10 hours ago |
  • Petron to cut prices of gasoline by P 1.45 per liter, diesel by P .70 per liter and kerosene by P .90 per liter. 10 hours ago |
  • Petron to implement oil price rollback on Aug. 30 Sunday. 10 hours ago |
  • PNP National Capital Region on full alert status due to the rally of Iglesia ni Cristo at EDSA. 10 hours ago |
  • Heavy rains pouring over several parts of Metro Manila. 13 hours ago |
  • Reward money for the arrest of the killer of Philippine eagle ‘Pamana’ rises to P 600K. 13 hours ago |
  • PAGASA monitors a low pressure area (LPA) 175 km. east of Borongan, Samar. 13 hours ago |
  • Traffic slow moving from Ortigas Avenue until Shaw Boulevard in Mandaluyong City. 13 hours ago |
  • DILG Sec. Mar Roxas & Mandaluyong City Mayor Benjamin Abalos hold meeting in Camp Crame to discuss the INC rally at EDSA. 14 hours ago |
  • Mandaluyong city gov’t PIO Jimmy Isidro says a permit was issued for INC’s rally to ‘contain’ the protest at Crossing & ease traffic. 14 hours ago |
  • Mandaluyong city government gives INC permission to hold their rally at EDSA-Shaw until Sunday. 14 hours ago |
  • INC Spokesman Edwil Zabala expects the crowd at EDSA will surge on Sunday afternoon. 14 hours ago |
  • EDSA-Shaw underpass open to motorists on Saturday morning although traffic along the southbound lane is slow. 14 hours ago |
  • INC members plan to stay at EDSA until Monday although they need to secure permit to do this. 14 hours ago |
  • Both northbound and southbound service roads of EDSA-Shaw Boulevard are impassable on Saturday morning due to INC’s rally. 14 hours ago |

Tan, San Juan emerge touring car champs

By MST Sports | Feb. 15, 2013 at 12:01am
Rosario — William Tan of 2GO Travel-Promethium Racing and Leo San Juan of TRS-Nissan Commonwealth Racing Team pulled off narrow escape wins to capture the top plums recently in the Philippine Touring Car Championship Series at the Batangas Racing Circuit here.

The drivers put their guts and skills and the power of their machines to the limit and pushed their respective title bids in this event organized by the Automobile Association Philippines, promoted by the Philippine Race Car Drivers Inc. and co-presented by Kumho Tires and Tiarra Marketing, Seaoil Extreme 97, 2GO Travel, Speedlab, Forex, Promethium, Velocity Motors, Aeromed Ambulance Transport and Monster Energy Drink.

Alan Arguelles dominated the last three races to capture the PTCC Division 3 crown.

But as the smoke of battle cleared, Tan clinched the premier Division 1 crown (for 200hp cars) and the AAP Driver of the Year, while San Juan copped the Division 2 title (for 150hp cars).

Sharing the limelight was Circuit Showdown and novice driver Alan Arguelles, who bagged the Division 3 overall honors (for 100hp cars) after winding up the series with 125 points, 30 ahead of rival Paul Aris Anguluan of Shift Racing Team, followed by Dominic Uy of Mighty Sports-Velocity Racing Team at third.

“The 2012-2013 PTCC Series was a complete success after modification of the Technical Regulations, with the full support of all partners and sponsors, particularly Kumho Tires and Tiarra Marketing, which was the official tires of the PTCC Series, race officials, supporters and to all competitors, who made the 2012-13 series possible. We also would like to congratulate all winners and drivers for a safe, fun and competitive racing season,” said Mark Desales of AAP Motorsports.

Tan struggled but managed to maintain a podium finish in the last three races—winding up second in Race 10, third in Race 11 and second in Race 12—to wrap up the series with 164 points,  enough to claim the overall plum.

Circuit Showdown’s Enzo Pastor dominated the weekend with impressive driving to sweep all three races and capture third place overall with 134 points, just three points shy of Forex Racing Team’s Joey Pery, 2010 Driver of the Year, who secured the overall runner-up crown with 137 points.

Meanwhile, DKC Racing Team’s Arnel Carlos showed off his driving skills after bagging a podium finish in the morning race, but was disqualified after failing in the dynamometer test and ignoring race signals after he spun out and caused damaged to his car, forcing him to make a pit stop.

For more information, contact AAP Motorsports at 655-5889, loc. 823.
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with editorial standards, may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section
comments powered by Disqus

Want Updates?

Be the first to know on what is latest from, simply enter your email below to get started. We don’t spam dont worry!