News Flash

August 31, 2015, Monday
  • Pres. Aquino led the National Heroes’ Day commemoration at the Libingan ng mga Bayani in Taguig City. 2 hours ago |
  • Presidential Spokesperson Edwin Lacierda thanks the INC for ending its 5-day protest rally. 2 hours ago |
  • 9 killed in a collision between a multicab & a truck before dawn Monday in Tacurong City, Sultan Kudarat. 2 hours ago |
  • Pres. Aquino calls on people to unite & set aside personal interests during his message on National Heroes’ Day. 2 hours ago |
  • Bayan Muna Party-list Rep. Neri Colmenares says the right of expelled INC Minister Isaias Samson Jr. to file a complaint must be respected. 2 hours ago |
  • CIBAC Party-list Rep. Sherwin Tugna says DOJ must continue hearing the complaint of expelled INC Minister Isaias Samson Jr. 2 hours ago |
  • Fire kills 6 stay-in workers in a bakery in Taal, Batangas. 2 hours ago |
  • Clean-up of area around EDSA-Shaw Boulevard ongoing following 5 days of INC’s protest. 2 hours ago |
  • Traffic flow now moving along EDSA-Shaw Boulevard in Mandaluyong City. 2 hours ago |
  • Some INC members still trooped to DOJ early Monday morning & left only after INC’s announcement that the protest was over. 2 hours ago |
  • Commuters who were at EDSA-Mandaluyong area about 6 am Monday experienced monstrous traffic jam due to INC rally. 2 hours ago |
  • INC members rejoiced upon hearing their leaders’ announcement at about 8 am Monday that they are ending the protest. 2 hours ago |
  • LRTA says the remaining value stored in the magnetic cards can be transferred to beep cards. 2 hours ago |
  • LRT-2 removes from all its stations the gates for magnetic cards as it paves the way for beep cards. 2 hours ago |
  • Registration for 2016 polls continues in selected malls in the provinces. 2 hours ago |
  • Comelec reminds public to register for 2016 elections before deadline comes on October 31. 2 hours ago |
  • Rains forecast over Central Luzon, Bicol, Isabela, Quirino, Rizal and Quezon. 2 hours ago |
  • Possibility of the LPA near Baler, Aurora developing into a storm remote. 2 hours ago |
  • LPA located at sea 390 kms. east southeast of Baler, Aurora. 2 hours ago |
  • INC evangelist Bienvenido Santiago says INC is concluding its protest as it has reached an understanding with gov’t. 3 hours ago |
  • Iglesia ni Cristo (INC) ends its protest at EDSA-Shaw Boulevard in Mandaluyong City. 3 hours ago |

Hagdang Bato, Hernandez get PSA nod

By MST Sports | Feb. 14, 2013 at 12:01am
For making 2012 a season to remember in horse racing, horse Hagdang Bato and jockey Jonathan Hernandez emerged the unanimous choices to receive the highest honor in their sport during the Philippine Sportswriters Association-Milo Annual Awards Night on March 16 at the Manila Hotel grand ballroom.

In a performance acknowledged as the greatest of his time, Hagdang Bato won 10 big stakes races, including a sweep of the Triple Crown Series, went unbeaten in 11 appearances, and delivered almost P15 million in prizes to his stable as he raced to prominence practically unchallenged.

The 3-year-old horse of Mandaluyong City Mayor Benhur Abalos achieved this amazing run of victories under the reins of Hernandez, a product of the jockeys’ academy. He described Hagdang Bato as the finest horse he has ridden in almost two decades.

“It was a no brainer (selection of Hagdang Bato and Hernandez). The board had an easy time making the choice. What the horse and the jockey did was simply amazing,” said PSA president Rey Bancod of Tempo after the PSA board meeting recently.

Along with other heroes and heroines who made the past year a big one for local sports, Hagdang Bato and Hernandez will be honored with major awards during a two-hour rites backed by International Container Terminal Services Inc.-Philippine Golf Tour, Philippine Sports Commission, Harbour Centre, Senator Chiz Escudero, Smart, LBC and the Philippine Basketball Association.

At the head of the honor roll are pro boxer Nonito Donaire Jr., amateur fighter Josie Gabuco, the Manila women’s softball team, and the Ateneo Blue Eagles, who will go up the stage as co-winners of the prestigious Athlete of the Year award.
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with editorial standards, may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section
comments powered by Disqus

Want Updates?

Be the first to know on what is latest from, simply enter your email below to get started. We don’t spam dont worry!